I Accept the Challenge… The Reading Challenge!

One of my greatest passions in life is reading. All of the books I have read, in one way or another, have contributed to the person I am today.  Reading makes you more intelligent. It doesn’t matter if it is a classic novel or a lighthearted magazine article; I believe that you can always learn something from reading.  I’ve recently realized that over the last couple of years I have not made time for reading as much as I should, so I’ve decided that 2015 will be the year that I become a reading machine once again!

I’ve recruited my best friend, and fellow book nerd, Kayla to join me in the 2015 Reading Challenge created by Pop Sugar. I stumbled upon this list while I was wasting time on Pinterest, and I knew I had to take on the challenge. This reading challenge is a really cool list that contains things like, “a book set in a different country” and “a book your mom loves.”

I love that I can customize the list to my tastes, but I expect it will also take me out of my comfort zone at times. Most of the list I am really excited about, but there are a few that make me a little nervous, like “a graphic novel.” I have never seen myself as someone who would enjoy graphic novels so that will be an interesting one for me. Also, “a book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t.” As I genuinely love to read, I actually read all of the required reading… except for one, The Scarlet Letter. (Sorry if you’re reading this, Mrs. Wilson!) I read the majority of the book via the modern interpretation on Sparknotes, so technically I read the whole book just not in its original form. This was because 1. The copy I had was a very old copy that I bought for 25 cents at a yard sale. I thought this would be really cool, but the dusty pages just made me sneeze the whole time I was reading, and 2. The language of the book really intimidated me at the time and because I procrastinated on starting the book I had trouble understanding what was going on in the very little time I had to read it. So as part of this challenge I will finally read The Scarlet Letter as it was actually intended to be read. *cue intimidated cringe face*

Writing is another passion of mine and also another thing that I do not practice enough in my free time, so I intend to document my year of reading with book reviews! I’ve already read a few books for the challenge so expect reviews soon. (Permission to get on to me if this doesn’t actually happen.)

I’m super excited to see what kinds of literary adventures this challenge takes me on throughout 2015. I would love it if more people joined me in this challenge, so I have posted the picture of the challenge to accompany this post. Happy reading, everyone!

reading challenge

Leave a comment